Alfredo Ayala, Eric Ripert, Yosuke Suga, Michel Richard, Jennie Lorenzo

Photo by Lyn Hughes

The event that we’ve been working towards ever since I arrived in Berkeley at The Tibetan Aid Project, Taste & Tribute New York had an incredibly successful turnout on June 19th. . . and above is a link to New York Magazine’s food daily- Grub Street. . . where Joel Ozersky posted his writeup of the night.

For more on the Taste & Tribute events , definitely check out Tibetan Aid Project.org

On the West Coast, we’ve jumped right back into the work of putting together the next event to be held in San Francisco this coming November (it will the the 8th gala event and the turnout and funds raised keep increasing which is simply wonderful!). . . as well as the proposal writing and general nonprofit work that is ongoing. I have two weeks left here. . . and while I’m in love with the Bay Area and all of the amazing people I’ve been around, I’m also looking forward to heading back east.

There are weddings to attend, lots of trips to various places, my studio beckons and there’s plenty of work to be done before fall shows and collaborations. Woven into this web will be digging in sweet smelling dirt, planting and harvesting, building rock walls and pergolas, days upon days spent at the ocean smelling of salt and sun. . . mmmmmm.

So soon I’ll be blowing parting kisses to all the goats who wander the Berkeley hillsides in the morning, as I pack my duffels full of summer skirts and an owl feather to head back to the heat of Maine, knowing that I’ll most likely be back someday. . .

